Introduce yourself and works in progress

Hi everyone, I’m Bernie Hogan, a member of the Network Canvas team. I started this thread so that people using Network Canvas can get to know each other, share experiences, or signal a means for contact.

I’ve been doing network studies for about 20 years. The original participant-aided sociogram from my past lab in Toronto (NetLab, directed by Barry Wellman) was part of the inspiration for Network Canvas. I’m presently based in Oxford at the Oxford Internet Institute.

These days I’m focused on helping Network Canvas users understand the software better, appeal to our developers for key features, supporting our fundraising and grant initiatives, and applying the software with my graduate students.

If you are interested in learning more about the OII or have questions about creative ways to use Network Canvas, feel free to get in touch. I tend to show up at Sunbelt (intermittently), EUSN (pretty regularly), and related conferences in computational social science. I also have scripts on how to do things with Network Canvas like classroom studies that I hope to package and share. You can find out more about my work at OII | Dr Bernie Hogan.

Best,
Bernie

1 Like

HI Bernie, and everyone!

I’m Guy Harling, an associate prof at University College London who has been doing social network things for around a decade. More about me at Iris View Profile. I have been using Network Canvas for a few years now and may have recently described myself a Stan for the team/software. I’m looking forward to seeing the NetworkCanvas community grow through this discussion space.